Book displays: Read the rainbow

One of my many roles at one of my jobs is to create monthly book displays. These are a constant in libraries and serve the dual function of creating visually interesting areas for patrons and introducing them to books they might not have normally picked up. They can be themed to a specific genre, topic or author. Or, if you want a mini-collection that’s a little more loosely connected, then you can theme the collection to the dominant color of the cover, for example. And that’s exactly what I did with July’s main display (I also did one that featured grilling cookbooks):

Here's my full display.

Here’s my full display, Complete with multiple books that range from mystery, to thrillers, to science fiction to historical fiction.

One display challenge this solves is that it’s a lot easier to refill the display. Many of my displays are themed to a specific topic, say yoga as a way to relax. Unfortunately, my library might only have 6 books on this topic. By the middle of the month, books disappear from the display and it begins to look a little sad. Luckily, by the middle of July, I only have to run out and grab some more of the 50 or so orange covered books I didn’t choose for my display.

I actually found this collection of short stories after I designed the flyer with an orange. Happy coincidence.

I actually found this collection of short stories after I designed the flyer with an orange. Happy coincidence.

These were only really orange on the spine, but I wanted to work in some variety.

These were only really orange on the spine, but I wanted to work in some variety.

The beauty of choosing books just by the color of their covers is that it's really easy to pair African-American authors with mystery or thrillers.

The beauty of choosing books just by the color of their covers is that it’s really easy to pair African-American authors with mystery or thrillers.

I thought it was really important to work in variety. Science fiction is always a good choice in my book.

I thought it was really important to work in variety. Science fiction is always a good choice in my book.

I also used this display to promote our adult summer reading program.

I also used this display to promote our adult summer reading program.

And I can still use this idea later with any number of colors. All you have to do is pick a color, pair it with a fun pun (you all know how I love a pun!) and explore your collection. Here’s to future fun with colors!

Leave a Reply

