Preserving the past: My first time planning a program

Programming is a key role of any librarian. So that’s why I convinced my boss at Hampton Public Library to allow me to organize a program all by myself. While I had flirted with the idea of a citizen science program, it eventually hit me that I could create a program that actually married my two lives: My former life as a page designer and my current life as a librarian. And so my Preserving Memories: A Digital Preservation Workshop was born:

The flyer I made to advertise for my preservation workshop. Designing flyers is another way I transfer newspaper skills into my current career path.

The flyer I made to advertise for my preservation workshop. Designing flyers is another way I transfer newspaper skills into my current career path.

In case that doesn’t track for your, here’s how I got from point A to point B: One of my key roles as a page designer was photo handling and the scanning of documents. At a newspaper, the goal of digitizing is really to get hard copy art into the digital format in which we design our newspapers. And as a librarian, my goal is to find information for people. So helping patrons through the process of digitizing photos and using them for family research meets my needs.

With the support of my boss, I brainstormed possible speakers, came up with topics they could each cover and (finally) picked a date. We have a genealogy expert and an archivist from the Mariners’ Museum in Newport News. And when I asked who might be best to demonstrate scanning and basic photo editing, my boss nominated me. So this will not only my first experience planning a program, but also my first experience presenting one. I’m really excited! In an event with this many firsts, there couldn’t possibly be any more, could there?

Apparently there can! Because then my boss also nominated me to speak about the program on Round Robin, a local talk show on the city’s municipal channel. Along with out city’s marketing email and the library’s Facebook, it’s our best form of marketing. So without further ado, here’s the most fun, terrifying, embarrassing and satisfying 13 minutes of my life. Please try to refrain from laughing the whole time, or you’ll lose count of just how many times I use the word “exactly.” (Hint: It’s too many.)

I plan to get into the nitty gritty of preserving memories, along with resources and tips (hopefully some from those who are far more expert at this than I am) in a future post.

Leave a Reply

