Bout of the Books 9.0

Bout of Books

I figured that with all the free time I have before classes start (which won’t be until Jan. 27 this year!), I have tons of time to read. So I figured, why not join the Bout of the Books this year? I can’t think of a reason not to, so here’s my official post stating my intent to challenge myself to read more than I’ve normally been able to.

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a weeklong read-a-thon that begins 12:01 a.m. Monday, January 6th and runs through Sunday, January 12th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 9.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.

Goals:

  1. Read 120 pages a day:I’m embarrassed to say I only averaged 30 pages a day last year, with the bulk of the books I read being read between July and December. So I’ll assume to push myself I’d need to quadruple that number and read 120.
  2. Post a review of at least one of the books I read: It usually takes me a good month or so to go back and post a review so this will be a bit of a challenge to fit this one in.

Books:

  1. Abaddon’s Gate: I took a break from the Expanse Series to catch up on my NetGalley backlog. It’s time I finished this series and see how Corey imagines the future of the universe. It’s a hefty page count, but hopefully I’ll be able to get through it (and beat my page count goal, to boot). I’m hoping to offer a review of this and each entry in the Expanse Series once I’m done, as well.
  2. Red Rising: This is the last of my NetGalley backlog. I’m curious to see how this author imagines a dystopian future. I know it seems a little “Been there, done that,” but I do enjoy reading them. I might even manage to get a review of this one up (eventually!).

Updates:

Catch up with my progress here once a day!

Monday, January 6
Pages read: 135
Books read from:
 Abaddon’s Gate by James S.A. Corey
Mini-challenges:
Bout of the Books Mad-Libs

Tuesday, January 7
Pages read: 122
Books read from:
 Abaddon’s Gate by James S.A. Corey

Wednesday, January 7
Pages read: 128
Books read from:
 Abaddon’s Gate by James S.A. Corey

Thursday, January 9
Pages read: 75 (finished Abaddon’s Gate) + 50 (Began Red Rising)
Books read from: Abaddon’s Gate by James S.A. Corey and Red Rising by Pierce Brown
Books finished: Abaddon’s Gate by James S.A. Corey

Friday, January 10
Pages read: 130
Book read from: Red Rising by Pierce Brown

One thought on “Bout of the Books 9.0

  1. Pingback: Bout of Books: Mad-Lib Mini-Challenge | Beta Librarian

Leave a Reply

