Reading in the New Year

I had a very literary Christmas. With the exception of a few essentials (a DVD player and a printer), most of my Christmas revolved around books. Like this T-shirt, for example:

Will Power Shirt from Shakespeare's birthplace, courtesy of my mumsy-in-law.

Will Power Shirt from Shakespeare’s birthplace, courtesy of my mumsy-in-law.

Or three separate comfy blankets, essential to successfully “curling up with a good book,” which I plan to spend a lot of time doing in 2014, thanks to this haul of books ready for the reading:

These are the books I got for Christmas!

These are the books I got for Christmas!

Let me introduce you!

  • Ghostwritten by David Mitchell: I read Cloud Atlas a couple of times before plans were announced for the movie. Even when I first read it in high school, I knew it was destined to make my all-time favorite books list. Mitchell is a master at what he does and Cloud Atlas is such an engaging epic, how could you not love it? And the movie is also excellent. Seriously. But Mitchell debuted his fractured style of seemingly unrelated narratives that are magically tied together in Ghostwritten and I’ve been meaning to read it for ages.
  • My Name is Will by Jess Winfield: Shakespeare. Duh.
  • The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson: I love the idea of a novel intertwining the stories of a serial killer and the architect of the World’s Fair, which gave the serial killer access to his prey. And, it’s based on actual events! And Leonardo DiCaprio already bought the movie rights. Because it’s just that good (I assume).
  • The Prague Cemetery by Umberto Eco: Eco has been one of my to-read authors for a long time. I chose this one because I thought a reimagining of the period of time in Europe that included the Dreyfus Affair and the building of antisemitism would be interesting. Plus its told with an imagined spy who supposedly engineers everything from behind the scenes.
  • Bleeding Edge by Thomas Pynchon: Pynchon was introduced to me through a college professor who assigned us The Crying of Lot 49  and suggested we take a look at Gravity’s Rainbow if we ever mustered the courage. I did and never looked back. Pynchon isn’t the easiest author to read, but I find his books pay off in the end. We’ll see if it’s true for this one. Incidentally, if you’re interested in postmodern novels, add White Noise by Don DeLillo to your list.

Right now I’m taking a break from the final book in the Expanse Series to read a NetGalley-provided novel called Mind Bond by Julie Haydon. I’m already enjoying it, so look for my official review later this month. I also have a backlog of other great books to share with you, as well as some library-school and library-job related posts. I promise to have them to you in January. Until then, have a great New Year’s Eve, everyone! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

