Ten things I’m thankful for

Now that I’ve recovered from today’s turkey coma, I thought I would offer my list of things for which I’m thankful.

  1. Mr. Snuggles AKA The Husband: In the 8 years I’ve known my husband, I’ve never ceased to be amazed at how sweet (and strange), loving (and ridiculous) and fun (and funny) this man is. I should mention that I did not bestow that nickname on him. It was his fraternity.
    The Husband and Mr. Miyagi, the top two things I'm thankful for this year.

    The Husband and Mr. Miyagi, the top two things I’m thankful for this year.

  2. Mr. Miyagi: No, not that Mr. Miyagi. My Miyagi is a 4-year-old lab/terrier mix that the husband and I adopted from the SPCA three and a half years ago. He fills my life with energy and the unconditional love only a dog can bring.
  3. Friends: My best guy friend (L) and my college roommates (KBMKS) have helped me get through every low and celebrated every high with me. They truly are the best. I also count a wide circle of people as my friends as well, and I’m grateful to know so many great, interesting and unique people.
  4. Family: This includes my birth family and the family that I was so lucky to get through marriage to my awesomely strange husband.
  5. Career: My life has not gone exactly as my 17-year-old self planned when I applied to college and put “journalism” down as my expected major. Since then I’ve been hired by a newspaper, laid off, hired into better full-time position at another newspaper and quit to completely change careers by taking a part-time job at a public library. I’m so grateful for all these experiences, though, I am most of all grateful that I’ve found a career I can be passionate about.
  6. Cooking: If I could not cook, I’m not sure what I would do. Cooking is my stress relief and my creative outlet. I’m so glad that my mother encouraged my love of cooking when I was just learning and that the husband is willing to play guinea pig for me whenever I try out new ideas.
  7. Health: As I head toward my thirties, I’m grateful that nothing has gone wrong health-wise. I’m so thankful I’ve made it this far without any health crises when so many other people I know aren’t so lucky.
  8. Books: Obviously.
  9. My library patrons: Not only do the people coming to my library basically allow me to have a job, but they also give me a huge amount of job satisfaction. There may be some negative Nancy’s in the bunch, but overall I love being able to help so many people. They’ve truly made the stress and uncertainty of switching careers completely worth it.
  10. Geekery: Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter,Dr. Who, Big Bang Theory, IT Crowd, Lord of the Rings….The list goes on. But being a geek about something (in my case, many things) automatically makes me part of a community. I can go to a restaurant wearing my Millennium Falcon T-shirt and instantly make a connection with my waiter, who also happens to be a Star Wars fan. In a world where it’s easy to feel disconnected, being a part of a fan group gives you an instant sense of belonging, and that feels good. Also, I’ve learned most of my life lessons from these stories, so I’m thankful they exist.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

Leave a Reply

