Reading habits

My reading habits, I’ve found, are actually quite predictable. I tend to read a series, read a standalone book, read another series, read a standalone book, read another series…ad infinitum. For example, I read the Alchemyst series, then read A Beautiful Truth, then re-read Harry Potter, and then read Ellen DeGeneres latest book, Seriously…I’m Kidding.

There’s a good reason for this. For me, and I’m sure a lot of you, reading a series takes a lot out of you. To immerse yourself in the world of a single book is one thing. But immersing yourself in a fictional word over the course of a series is a much larger investment. You think about characters when you’re not reading the book. Plot points turn up in your dreams. A coworker says something to you and you say, “You sound like my friend, Hermione.” Then you realize Hermione is neither your friend nor a real person. And the end of a series is a bit jarring. I usually take a day off of reading anything else, just because the world has set up shop in my head and nothing will seem as good. sikellen

Which is why I like to sprinkle in standalone books, just because I can’t take the disappointment that Hogwarts isn’t actually a real place all the time.  I have found the best way to get out of those worlds is to read a comedy memoir. They make you laugh, which is great because I very often need a pick-me-up after having to say goodbye to beloved characters with whom I’ve spent a month (or more). And it’s nice to read about real people every once in a while. Plus, some of these people say things we all need to hear. Ellen DeGeneres’ book, especially, is full of those kinds of things. For example:

“If there is any message I want you to take from this book, it is that befriending a parrot can be both frustrating and infinitely rewarding. And if there is another message I want you to take from this book, it’s that you can be happy. There is so much bad news in the world right now and sometimes it’s hard to see the positive side of things, but it is possible…”

I definitely recommend her book. It’s full of hilarious anecdotes, lessons for life and just general silliness. Plus the book is a fast read, so you have extra time for Ellen’s recommended daily amount of dance breaks. =D

Leave a Reply

