Top Ten Tuesday: Books to films

For today’s Top Ten Tuesday, the ladies at The Broke and the Bookish offered yet another irresistible topic: Top Ten Books I Would Love To See As A Movie/TV Show (set in a perfect world…in which movies don’t butcher the books we love.) I love reading, but a lot of times I read a book and can’t help but wonder what it would be like in movies or on T.V. So here’s my list:

The Night Circus

This book is one of my favorites and Erin Morgenstern filled it with such rich descriptions that you don’t really need an imagination to bring this one to life. And the feel of it is definitely tailor-made for Tim Burton. I’d love to see his take on it, maybe with a paper-doll introduction, like Oz the Great and Powerful (which was pretty much the only good part of the movie).

Tales of the Otori

I first read this epic tale of feuding clans and supernatural ninjas set in alternate universe feudal Japan in high school. From Across the Nightingale Floor to Grass For His Pillow and The Brilliance of the Moon, Lian Hearn weaves an epic tale of love, loss, betrayal, honor and loyalty. He even added a prequel and a sequel to the trilogy, rounding out the total books to five, and happily extending my time in a world that isn’t very well explored in fiction. I’d love to see Jet Li as The Tribe master sent to train the young hero, Tomasu/Takeo, ideally played by an unknown youth who will turn out to be the next Jet Li. One can dream anyway.

August Frost

I loved this book with each new reading (I’ve read it five or six times) and have constantly wondered how it could ever live up to my imagination of it. And then I saw Pushing Daisies, which is this beautiful technicolor television show that manages to believably mix the real world with a touch of fantasy. Give me that director, set designer and costumer, and a brand new but strangely talented leading man, and this would be an excellent movie.

The Dark Tower Series

I always thought this would make an epic television series, but only if given a director with movie-style mentality. The world of Dark Tower is huge and any television production would risk coming off as too flat if there isn’t a lot of money and talent behind it. I see it running on HBO and starring Viggo Mortenson as the Gunslinger. If it can be done with Game of Thrones, why not this infinitely more entertaining series (oh, snap, did I just insult the most beloved hated t.v. show of all time?)

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

It’s been far too long since a piece of quality magical realism mixed with bildungsroman has hit the movies. With all the action/horror/romance movies abounding, isn’t time for some good old fashioned coming-of-age tales? Plus I’d love to see how they handle the changes the main character (and, separately, her brother) go through.

The True Story of Hansel and Gretel

This is such a beautiful and heartbreaking tale that I think it should get the chance to reach a broader audience. I can see it treated a little like Pan’s Labyrinth: Done in a foreign language (Polish/German, most likely) and with the intriguing gritty darkness that made Pan’s Labyrinth so realistic despite the magic/fantasy elements.

Storybound/Story’s End

I don’t think the world has gotten enough young adult fantasy in their movie-going experience, and this short series fits the bill perfectly. I don’t always have to be adult in my choices, do I?

From the Corner of His Eye

I’ve always considered Dean Koontz one of my favorite authors, although I really haven’t read many of his works recently. He was my go-to author when I was younger, though, and I know I’ve thought several of his books would make incredible movies. This one, which intricately weaves several disparate tales together and throws in some quantum mechanics just for fun is absolutely one of my favorites.

The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars)

I got incredibly excited when the new Star Wars films were announced. Well, I was excited for all of 5 minutes and then reality set in. But this challenge specifically asks for us to list books we’d like to see as movies in a perfect world, not reality. In that case, I wish we could got back 20 years and get the original cast to do these three movies. Written by Timothy Zahn and encompassing the first real challenge the fledgling New Republic faces after the fall of the Emperor, this series introduces one of the best Star Wars villains ever (Admiral Thrawn) and one of my favorite characters from the books (Mara Jade). In a perfect world, I would have loved for this to be the next three movies.

The Yiddish Policeman’s Union

While I still have mixed feelings about Michael Chabon as an author, I really enjoyed this book. And turning it into a movie would undoubtedly fix my problem with the book (slogging through the scattered moments when things moved too slowly). I have no idea who could pull off a grumpy, drunken, overweight Jewish cop in alternate-universe Alaska chasing down a murder case no one wants him to solve, but I know it would make for a great movie.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books to films

Leave a Reply

