Dream Jobs: Journalism and Mass Communications Librarian

This post is part of an ongoing series about interesting and exciting job prospects in the field of library and information science. Join me as I explore the evolving roles librarians fill.

In an effort to begin narrowing down the types of jobs I’m interested, I plan to start a new feature called “Dream Jobs.” Right now I’m not completely sure what I want to do with this degree. To combat this uncertainty and to really get a feel for how huge this field is, I’ve been reading job boards in my down time. It’s a little early to seriously apply for any these jobs (I won’t have a degree until August 2014 and the degree is generally the required quality for most of these employers), but it’s nice to see what’s out there. So for now, I’ll be gathering descriptions of jobs that immediately make me say “Hey, I would really love to do that!”

First up is a job that would make a wonderful bridge between my past and my future. According to the post, which came to me through UMD’s iSchool listserv, the Journalism and Mass Communications Librarian for the University of Florida “provide reference assistance, instruction, outreach and collection management to support the large faculty and student populations and academic programs in this discipline.” The position will have a focus on “new technology to access and deliver information to library users,” which is becoming more exciting for me as I discover how many exciting online tools there are out there.

For me, the idea that I can use the last 10 years of my educational and professional life to help young journalists in my new role as a librarian is truly exciting. That and (except for that pesky MLS) I am fully qualified, including the wish that the candidate would have direct experience working in the field of journalism.

I must admit that I am already considering working in an academic library, but because I went to such a tiny school for my undergraduate degree, it never occurred to me that academic librarians might only focus on a single academic area. Knowing this broadens my immediate definition of the role of the academic librarian and gives me new hope that the last 10 years haven’t been a complete professional waste.

Leave a Reply

